Skip Navigation

Guoyao Wu, PhD

University Distinguished Professor
Department of Animal Science
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2012

Dr. Wu received the B.S. in Animal Science from South China Agricultural University in Guangzhou, China (1982), the M.S. in Animal Nutrition from China Agricultural University in Beijing, China (1984), and the M.Sc. (1986) and Ph.D. (1989) in Animal Biochemistry from the University of Alberta in Canada. Dr. Wu completed his postdoctoral training in diabetes, nutrition and biochemistry at McGill University Faculty of Medicine (1989-1991) and Memorial University of Newfoundland Faculty of Medicine in Canada (1991). He joined the Texas A&M University faculty in October 1991. Currently, he is a University Distinguished Professor and University Faculty Fellow. His research focuses on the biochemistry, nutrition and physiology of amino acids and related nutrients in animals (particularly swine, sheep, cattle, chickens, rats and fish). Dr. Wu has published 565 papers in peer-reviewed journals, 58 book chapters, and 2 professional books (Principles of Animal Nutrition, and Amino Acids: Biochemistry and Nutrition). With > 41,500 citations and an H-index of 103, he is among the Most Cited Authors worldwide.

Dr. Wu has received numerous prestigious awards, including China National Scholarship for Graduate Studies Abroad (1984), The University of Alberta Andrew Stewart Graduate Prize (1989), Medical Research Council of Canada Postdoctoral Fellowship (1989), American Heart Association Established Investigator Award (1998), Nonruminant Nutrition Research Award from the American Society of Animal Science (2004), Changjiang Scholar Award from China (2008), FASS-AFIA New Frontiers in Animal Nutrition Research Award from the Federation of Animal Science Societies and American Feed Industry Association (2009), the Samburu Collaboration Award from the International Association of Giraffe Care Professionals (2010), Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2012), and Distinguished Scientist of Sigma Xi Honor Society – Texas A&M University Chapter (2013).